Back to Top

Meet Marian

I grew up on the far south side of Chicago where I spent the first 18 years of my life, and have since lived all over the Chicagoland area. I have 3 younger brothers and I also have a sister from another mother. My brothers and I were raised conservatively and always had God and family values in the forefront of our lives. My parents divorced when I was 9, and my brothers and I were raised primarily by my mom's side of the family.  I married at age 19 and had my only child (a son) at the age of 21.

I attended Marcus Garvey, Kohn, and Aldridge Elementary schools; I attended Hyde Park Career Academy, Jones Commercial, Carver, and Thornton Township High Schools; and I Graduated from Thornton Township (Go Wildcats!). I attended DeVry Institute of Technology and enrolled in their Accounting Program, which was a new program. My class was to be the 2nd class in the accounting program.

Throughout my school years, I worked during the summer. At the age of 12, I landed my first job working as a cashier at my grandmother's candy store. At the age of 15, I worked for one of my aunts at her office as a receptionist. My 3rd job was Office Assistant at another aunt's office. Those jobs helped me get my first “unassisted” employment at Survey Center, which was close to DeVry. I did not like that job, so I went back to the Career Center and was able to secure a job at Harris Bank in Downtown Chicago. From there, I gained great work experience and acquired skills that I refer to often. From there, I had a very successful Career at Budget Car and Truck Rental as a Store Manager and Agency Operator Trainer, until the store became agency-operated (it was the last Corporate Suburban Store in the area), after which I changed careers and went into Convenience Store Retail Management.

Two years later, I opened my own Restaurant, which was an awesome learning experience.  The company I was leasing from gave my lease to Pizza Hut, so I had to shut down my restaurant, which motivated me to make a life-changing decision. I moved to Rock Island, IL on the suggestion of a friend. I then acquired a job at the U.S. Postal Service, then went back to Retail Management, and now I own my own business as a Real Estate Agent.

In between Budget and Retail, I took online courses in Criminal Justice, and before I opened my Restaurant, I tested for Border Patrol and passed! I planned on waiting for my son to graduate from high school, so I would know which college he was going to if he decided not to go into the military, which was his original plan. On testing day, they gave all candidates a timeframe as to how long the process would take to complete if we passed, and the timeframes worked perfectly for what I wanted to do. But the timeframe changed for me because I am a minority/woman; so I was put through immediately, which did not work for me as it would have required removing my son from school during his senior year.  So, I backed out of that one.

Later that year, Sheriff testing rolled around. Again we got the time frame, and I said great, I can get the restaurant opened and have my son help me and have it established by the time the sheriff training started. Again I passed and was pushed to the front! Once again, the timing was bad because my Physical was the week of my grand opening, and there was no way I could prepare for both. So, since I spent my savings on my restaurant, I prepared for my grand opening.  On a side note, I also applied for the position of Correction Officer while working on my Real Estate License, and before I even finished the application, I was called in for an interview! But I never finished the application because I was working on obtaining my Real Estate License, which I paid for and figured I had better give it my undivided attention.

I still haven't gotten the law enforcement bug out of my system, but at this point I'm too old. (Maybe a Ride-Along will help me get over the calling.) I'll keep you posted! Now fast-forward, I'm in Rock Island after closing down my restaurant, and I'm looking for ways to help in the community. I drove down to the Republicans of Rock Island County and volunteered my services. Becoming a Precinct Committee Person, I volunteered my time to get Republicans elected. Soon I heard my calling to serve as well. That's why I decided to run for Rock Island County Clerk. 

I look forward to your support!

Thank you,

Marian Stallings

 

Committee to Elect Marian Stallings
Powered by CampaignPartner.com - Political Campaign Websites
Close Menu